Raptr Forums > Talk to Raptr > Help!

Incorrect Username/Password for Steam?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
 
Old 21 Sep 10
mau64
mau64's Avatar
Unhatched Egg
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
Incorrect Username/Password for Steam?
for some reason, trying to sync my profile with steam will just not work; its declaring I'm using the wrong username and password, which I've tried everything. I've even changed my password and tried to use it, nothing?

my username is mau64 but my sign in name is maup64. Any help would be greatly appreciated. It worked when I had vista but just recently changed to windows 7; not sure if that has anything to do with it.
__________________
Reply With Quote
 
Old 21 Sep 10
Auth3ntic0
Auth3ntic0's Avatar
Tiny Dino
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 35
Well just a helper. Yesterday I've also changed for Vista to 7 and had no problem at all. I use my user name and password to sign in to steam, not my nick.
__________________

Reply With Quote
 
Old 22 Sep 10
Stippy
Stippy's Avatar
Supreme Raptr
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3,364
Does this happen when you try to add that account your profile's identity page or the client? Both?
__________________

Planet Express - Our crew is replaceable, your package isn't.
Reply With Quote
 
Old 16 Oct 10
AthenRahl
AthenRahl's Avatar
Unhatched Egg
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
I'm having the same issue with the Client on both my Windows 7 PC and the new iPhone/iTouch Raptr. Everything conencted fine until today. Steam connects without any issues, even tried changing my Steam password and still no go. WTF?
__________________
You can think I'm wrong, but that's no reason to stop thinking.
A knight in shining armor is a man who's mettle has never been truly tested.
Live each moment like it's part of an epic montage.
Reply With Quote
 
Old 16 Oct 10
MadFragger
MadFragger's Avatar
Supreme Raptr
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4,446
dunno if it is related or anything, but it seems a lot of steam users had weird errors in steam earlier today (unauthorisation failures etc from steam's side)...
__________________
Reply With Quote
 
Old 17 Oct 10
Urusai
Urusai's Avatar
Undead Raptr
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7,602
Remember that steam ID's are caps sensitive.
Reply With Quote
 
Old 17 Oct 10
Deksar
Deksar's Avatar
Wise Raptr
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 720
This sounds like a configuration problem.

Try deleting your Steam account login on the Raptr client, closing it out completely (including from the System Tray in the bottom-right), waiting a minute or two, opening Raptr back up, and making up your Steam account again.

Raptr needs your persistent login name (the one you give to Steam itself), not your Steam Nickname which you can change on demand.

If that doesn't work, maybe uninstall and reinstall Raptr.
__________________
Reply With Quote
 
Old 17 Oct 10
AthenRahl
AthenRahl's Avatar
Unhatched Egg
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
@Deksar - Already tried ALL of that, including the re-install. Still no go. And I know it needs the login name, not the profile nic.

@Urusai - Yup, I know; I used to work in tech support so I made sure to try everything I would have had a customer do with their software before I posted here.

thanks for the advice just the same, guys; the attempts are appreciated ^_^
__________________
You can think I'm wrong, but that's no reason to stop thinking.
A knight in shining armor is a man who's mettle has never been truly tested.
Live each moment like it's part of an epic montage.

Last edited by AthenRahl; 17 Oct 10 at 12:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
 
Old 18 Oct 10
Deksar
Deksar's Avatar
Wise Raptr
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 720
Quote:
Originally Posted by AthenRahl View Post
thanks for the advice just the same, guys; the attempts are appreciated ^_^
Does that include uninstalling and then deleting the %APPDATA%\Raptr folder *before* reinstalling? I noticed the Raptr uninstaller doesn't always delete that folder. Also make sure it's gone from C:\Program Files\Raptr (or C:\Program Files (x86)\Raptr if 64-bit OS blah blah).
__________________
Reply With Quote
 
Old 18 Oct 10
Stippy
Stippy's Avatar
Supreme Raptr
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3,364
Pretty sure that was a Steam issue... We've done this several times this AM with no problems.
__________________

Planet Express - Our crew is replaceable, your package isn't.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump